First ever Nars purchase

Okay guys, I admit, I have been late to the Nars bandwagon. It seems like beauty gurus everywhere are always talking about Nars Laguna bronzer and the Orgasm blush. I had never tried these products because of a couple different reasons.

First, the price. Orgasm, which Sephora describes as a “peachy pink with shimmer”, is $30.00 for 0.16 oz. I feel like this is so expensive for a blush when I can go to the drugstore and get a Milani blush for $8.00 for 0.12 oz.

Laguna, described as “brown with golden shimmer”, is 0.28 oz and retails for $38.00. Prior to discovering this bronzer I was using NYC’s Smooth Skin bronzer in Sunny which is 0.33 oz and retails for like $3.00 at Wal-Mart.

The second reason I had never tried these products is because when I think of products I want to splurge on and pay high end prices for, I think of foundations, lipsticks, eyeshadow, and other products that the quality of a drugstore product can’t (or doesn’t usually) match.

I don’t know about you guys but I can exchange blush and bronzer and face powders and usually come out with similar looks, regardless of if the products are drugstore or high end. However, my mom gave me birthday money and I saw a set from Sephora that I couldn’t resist, which ended up leading to this post.

Sephora has a set (still available at the publishing time of this post) that contains Laguna bronzer, Orgasm blush, and Devotee highlighting blush (described as “luminous alabaster sheen”), plus a brush for only $49.00!

Image

Photo from Sephora.com

The NARSissist Cheek Kit contains .08oz of each of the three cheek products and a travel sized blush brush. If you have ever tried or have any of these products then you probably won’t want to run to the nearest Sephora to purchase this kit; however, if you are like me and have never tried any of the products before and don’t want to pay the full price before sampling, then I highly recommend this kit.

The bronzer gives a beautiful “just back from somewhere exotic” look while the blush brings a natural flush to your cheeks that mimics the glow you get after exercising (as the color name implies, I am sure the people of NARS did not want the glow to be described as one of post exercise but I am trying to keep it PG around here ;)…). The highlighter is also beautiful. It is very natural and has a sheen, not sparkle, that make your cheeks look radiant, it is also good for setting under-eye concealer and brightening the under-eye area.

All-in-all this kit is amazing and worth the high end price point. When I first used the kit, I texted my mom to tell her i had found the only bronzer and blush I would ever use again. That was probably a little dramatic on my part because I always want to try and buy new things but these are colors that I don’t think I will be without in my makeup bag ever again

Let me know if you guys have tried any NARS products and how they have worked out for you!

Leave a Reply

