Mini reviews of recent purchases

It’s a busy blogging day! Hopefully you guys don’t mind. I work 12 hour night shifts 3-4 days a week and truthfully I don’t want to be all tied up on the computer when I am home with the hubby. He is at work today and I am making up for it by blogging my blues away. I have been busy purchasing way too much makeup lately. In fact, I am thinking about doing a no-buy April and maybe even May so that I can pay off some credit cards, but that said I thought I would share with you some of my recent purchases and what I think of them.

Let’s get started..

1. Sephora Perfection Mist Airbrush Foundation $26.00 for 2.5oz-

SEPHORA COLLECTION - Perfection Mist Airbrush Foundation

This foundation is basically a knock off of the Dior airflash foundation that is over $60.00. I wanted to try a spray foundation but not for 60 bucks so I did some research and found this dupe that was within my price range. I love this stuff, it somehow manages to give medium to full coverage, while looking flawless and it’s so light you can’t even tell it’s on your face. I pull my hair up in a towel and wrap a towel around my neck then spray a light layer on my face, then I spray some on my hand and go over areas that need a little more coverage. It takes no time to get perfect skin with this stuff. I don’t know how long it would last if you used it everyday. I try to save it for special occasions or when I want a really flawless look. Because it is a spray can that you shake (almost like spray paint), it can be hard to tell how you much you have left. I would definitely recommend trying this product!

2. NARS Light Reflecting Setting Powder in Translucent Crystal $35.00 for 0.24oz-

NARS - Light Reflecting Pressed Setting Powder

This setting powder comes in both loose and pressed versions. I have the pressed version and I really enjoy it. It claims to set foundation, make makeup last longer, soak up oil with touch ups, and blur wrinkles and pores. This does give the face a really even, bright look, but I don’t notice much in terms of blurring pores or imperfections. I like this powder mainly because it doesn’t make my makeup look cakey and because it’s pressed I do think it will last a long time. I am not sure if I will buy this product again once I am out mainly because of the price tag.

3. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Diffused Light and Radiant Light $45.00 for 0.35 oz                                                    Hourglass - Ambient Lighting Powder(Diffused Light)                         Hourglass - Ambient Lighting Powder(Radiant Light)

These powders are face powders that are supposed to mimic different types of light and give the skin a glow. Diffused Light was the first one I bought and Sephora’s website describes it as “a soft, warm, pale yellow that reduces redness, eliminates shine, and gives skin clarity.” I like this the best out of the two I have and use it to set my under eye concealer everyday and alternate between this and the NARS powder to set my actual makeup. I feel like this powder blurs my face and gives it a soft-focus effect. Unlike the NARS one, I actually feel like this makes a difference in my imperfections and the yellow base is perfect for people who struggle with red, sensitive skin. I promise you won’t actually look yellow. The Radiant Light is a warmer bronze that is described as “a sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth.” I can go overboard with this powder very quickly. It goes from looking soft and warm to orange on my light skin tone if I am not careful. As spring and summer roll in and I begin to get some color on my face, I think this will look gorgeous as an all over face powder or on top of bronzer. Right now I use it whenever I have had my makeup on for a long time and some of the color has faded. I’ll sweep this across my forehead and cheeks and it revives my makeup and makes me look alive again. There are 4 more colors available and I want them all. They also have blushes that look beautiful. I literally have to try and talk myself out of ordering one every time I go to Sephora’s website. Hourglass’s powders are becoming a quick holy grail product for me.

4.Urban Decay Naked Basics palette $28.00 for 6 eyeshadows that are 0.05oz each.

Urban Decay - Naked Basics Palette

This palette contains five matte shades in natural colors and one demi-matte shade. This has hands down been my favorite palette since purchasing. It looks so natural and makes my blue eyes pop. I can mix it with other palettes and shadows that don’t have mattes to use as transitional colors or use it alone to make everything from a natural everyday look to a dramatic night time smokey eye. I love this palette.

5. Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette $52.00 for 12 eyeshadows that are 0.05 oz each

Urban Decay - Naked3

This palette contains 12 eyeshadows that are in the pink/rose gold/gray family and that range in finishes from matte to shimmer. Everyone and their mother has talked about this palette. Do I love it? NO! Will I use it since I spent 50 bucks on it? YES! Could you get these looks with cheaper options? Absolutely. I feel like the lynch mob just got called out and are lighting their torches. I’m sorry but I don’t like this palette. I have been able to get a couple of cute looks but in my opinion all the looks end up looking the same when you blend them out and I regret spending that much money on it.

I also got a few samples in my various orders that I thought I would share. Keep in mind I only got to use these samples a couple times each but I’ll share with you my first impressions

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Medium Brown $23.00 for 0.03oz  (full size) –

Anastasia Beverly Hills - Brow Powder Duo

I love this stuff so much I have already ordered the full size. I am not good with eyebrow pencils but this stuff fills in my brows and lasts all day. It is super easy to use, also.  I used the sample about 10 times and the full size version is about 150 times bigger than the sample size, so I am figuring the full size will last forever.

Dolce & Gabbana Passioneyes Duo Mascara- $32.00, Sephora doesn’t have the size listed on their website-

Dolce & Gabbana - Passion Eyes Mascara

This stuff works well but it is so expensive I didn’t let myself get too attached. To be honest I think it is very similar to Covergirl’s Clump Crusher or Lash Blast mascaras and they are much cheaper. If you have the money to spare, though, this is a good mascara that will give you length and volume and very few clumps.

Buxom Show Some Skin Weightless Foundation $34.00 for 1.5oz-

Buxom - Show Some Skin Weightless Foundation

I really like this foundation for summer. It is extremely light weight and provides light to medium coverage. I have acne prone skin and it covered my blemishes and redness well. It has ingredients in it that are supposed to help hydrate your skin and smooth wrinkles. I have considered buying the full size but I can’t decide since I only used it once. I have read some reviews that said it caused breakouts on some people who don’t normally break out. I will have to ponder this purchase a little longer.

Last but not least,

BECCA Ultimate Coverage Complexion Creme $44.00 for 1.01oz-

BECCA - Ultimate Coverage Complexion Crème

I really liked this foundation. It was really light on the skin but so pigmented. I felt like I didn’t have to put a lot on to cover up imperfections and my makeup looked fresher all day with no signs of cakey-ness. I’ve seen mostly negative reviews on this foundation and I can’t understand why. I think it’s great! I have heard some people say it is just too hard to find the right color but I lucked out because my color was in the sample card that Sephora sent me. If you have dry, aging, or acne prone skin, I would recommend this foundation because it contains 21% pigments and 22% water, which is why it offers such great coverage and hydration in a lightweight formula.

Alright, I think I have covered everything for now. Let me know if you have tried any of these products or if you have tried anything new recently.

Leave a Reply

